A pastor’s apology to the #LGBTQ community.

Michael Palmer

“Little country church” by Tim Wilson

To those in the LGBTQ community,

I suppose I should first offer an introduction. My name is Michael, and I’m a pastor.

Because of my role as a pastor I’ve witnessed, over the past few days, conversations responding to the recent Supreme Court decision that are anything but Christlike (read: Loving and compassionate).

You see, the reality of this situation is my fellow church-folk are struggling with this issue. Compounding this problem, as Christians we’ve often come from a place of legalism, and in many ways, even as I write, we’ve not broken free from this law-first theology. Because of this theological reality, we have almost no practice dealing with something as controversial and emotionally/physiologically complicated as same-sex attraction.

Really, this is bigger than same-sex marriage. The Church has historically done an extremely poor job of dealing with sexuality in general.

And so, it’s from this…

View original post 669 more words

Leave a Reply

